uTorrent Problems

So I’ve been using uTorrent for a while now and lately its been a real bandwidth hog, and I couldn’t browse any websites, check email, or connect to IRC when it was running.  I could only do these things after exiting the program and repairing my internet connection.  So I took a little visit to the forums at utorrent.com and found these helpful tips:

– Disable IP resolving in the Peers tab
– Try disabling DHT (Can be found in Preferences > BitTorrent)
– Try disabling UPnP (Can be found in Preferences > Connection)
– Try lowering maximum global number of connections to 200? 100? 50? (Can be found in Preferences > BitTorrent)
– Lower net.max_halfopen to 4 (Can be found in Preferences > Advanced)
– Patched TCPIP.sys and restarted computer after patching? (Assumes you are using Windows XP w/ SP2)
– Connect your computer directly to the modem to make sure the problem is not caused by the router
– Restart your computer, modem, and router after performing any of the above

I followed all of them up to lower netmax halfopen and it worked perfectly😀 Now I have great speed and I can use all my internet applications. Yay!

This may help you too, Gimpi.  When you get back from vacation, at least.

7 Responses to “uTorrent Problems”


  1. 1 Chip July 2, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Yeah!
    I thought I was the only person suffering from major bandwidth issues.

    Thanx.

  2. 2 Jan March 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    yeah that helped a bit only thing i couldnt do is – Disable IP resolving in the Peers tab, couldnt find the peers tab. wheer is it?

  3. 4 Zag February 7, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Wow, thanks. I’ve been having this problem for quite sometime and the solution was so easy🙂

  4. 5 hack tools September 5, 2014 at 7:09 am

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of
    the finest sites on the internet. I am going to highly recommend this web site!

  5. 6 far Cry 4 Game download September 8, 2014 at 8:04 am

    What’s up, after reading this awesome paragraph i am also delighted to share my familiarity here with friends.

  6. 7 www.adecomlacara.es September 9, 2014 at 7:51 am

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this web site’s articles or reviews every day along with a cup of coffee.


Leave a Reply

